Skip to content

August 20, 2022

BRL DSS S12 R9 Recap

by Ryan Senneker

19 August 2022
Bootleg Racing League | Season 12 | Round 9
Dirt Street Stock Series | The Dirt Track at Charlotte
Sim Racing Software: iRacing

William Hargreaves with Dirt Panda claimed his third win of Season 12 tonight with the Bootleg Racing League at The Dirt Track at Charlotte ahead of Brandyn Proudfoot and Zachary Loomis. “We got down to the end there and I just literally went where he didn’t go… he thought I was going to go high and I just braked and dove low”, Hargreaves commented as the night came to a close, “It was a lot of fun racing with all these guys tonight.”

Brandyn Proudfoot held the fastest time in qualifying with a quick lap clocked at 18.792 and took the win in the first heat race of the night over Zachary Loomis securing the pole for the upcoming 40-lap feature later on in the night. J R Shepherd took the second heat win over William Hargreaves and Billy Northcutt took the third and final heat win over Bobby Hayes. Kevin Davis beat Jason Best to the line in the C Main and Thomas Vickers won the B Main consolation over Chris Davis as the night ramped up to the feature event.

Proudfoot led the 18-car field to the green flag running to the inside of Shepherd. Hargreaves quickly jumped ahead into 2nd place around the first lap and wasted no time going after Proudfoot. Shepherd and Loomis battled over 3rd while Kevin Davis struggled to hold off Best directly behind them. Proudfoot was still in control of the field as the drivers completed the first 10 laps of the night with Hargreaves still challenging for the lead and the leaders started trading sliders.

Proudfoot regained the lead as they passed the halfway mark ahead by a nose running the inside with Loomis, Shepherd and Best almost going 5 wide with the leaders running through the corners. Proudfoot and Hargreaves started trading sliders until Loomis caught the battle and went for the lead himself pinning Proudfoot behind Hargreaves with 10 laps remaining. Loomis couldn’t hold the pace and dropped back as the leaders resumed trading sliders aggressively with the laps counting down.

A late race caution brought the field back together with 7 laps remaining. Proudfoot held the lead for the single file restart ahead of Hargreaves gaining a strong advantage. Proudfoot had a strong launch, but Hargreaves stayed close behind trying several slider attempts that he wasn’t able to clear until the final corner where William Hargreaves cleared ahead of Brandyn Proudfoot to take the checkered flag with Zachary Loomis, J R Shepherd, and Jason Best rounding out the top 5 finishers tonight at The Dirt Track at Charlottle.

Brandyn Proudfoot further extends his lead in the point standings with 697 points becoming the unofficial season champion. William Hargreaves moves up to 2nd place after tonight’s win with 608 points with Billy Northcutt close behind in 3rd with 589 points. J R Shepherd holds onto 4th place with 545 points as Hunter Hill takes 5th away from Jeffrey Hardin with 488 points. The drivers of the Bootleg Racing League Dirt Street Stock Series now head to Limaland Motorsports Park for race 10 of season 12 on August 26th with all of the dirt slinging action broadcast live at 7:10PM ET exclusively on the Virtual Grip Network!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: