Skip to content

August 26, 2022

BRL DSS S12 R10 Recap

by Ryan Senneker

26 August 2022
Bootleg Racing League | Season 12 | Round 10
Dirt Street Stock Series | Limaland Motorsports Park
Photograph by: Billy Northcutt
Sim Racing Software: iRacing

William Hargreaves with Dirt Panda claimed his 4th win of the season tonight in the Bootleg Racing League Dirt Street Stock Series at Limaland Motorsports Park ahead of Zachary Loomis and Billy Northcutt. “[Northcutt] definitely wasn’t going away there and he almost had me on the second caution restart for sure”, Hargreaves shared with us after battling his teammate for the win, “Even the first one he probably could’ve threw a slider if he really, really wanted to.”

William Hargreaves sat at the top of the boards with a fast lap at 15.156 in qualifying as the night started out. Brandyn Proudfoot qualified dead last in the field as he struggled to sort out mechanical issues with his machine. Hargreaves took the win in the first heat ahead of Chris Davis, Billy Northcutt won the second heat ahead of Zachary Loomis and J R Shepherd took the third and final heat win of the night beating Grady Wade across the line. Jeffrey Hardin and Thomas Vickers won each of the consolation races as the 16-car field stacked back up for the 40-lap feature event with Brandyn Proudfoot going home early in a shocking upset for the points leader.

Hargreaves led the field out of turn four as the green flag came out over the track with Northcutt to his outside. Shepherd jumped off the start and got alongside Northcutt while Hargreaves was able to clear into the lead. Hargreaves and Northcutt were able to break away from the field as Davis and Shepherd battled over 3rd with Shepherd falling back to 5th behind Loomis. Shepherd continued to fall back in the field under pressure from Dylan Corey behind him with 10 laps completed.

Loomis joined the battle for the lead going into the second half of the night while Shepherd and Davis battled again over 4th. John Wilson was quietly making his way up through the field up to 7th battling with Cody Shaw. The Dirt Panda teammates ran side by side for the lead with Northcutt trying to make the inside line work while Loomis ran close behind Hargreaves to prevent Northcutt from rejoining the high line. Loomis was able to take away 2nd place forcing Northcutt to slide up in front of Davis in 4th. Wilson had cleared ahead of Shepherd into 5th closing quickly on Davis.

Wilson was running directly through the slick on the track clearing ahead of Davis with Northcutt now in his sights with 10 laps remaining. Vickers and Davis came together with only 6 laps to go bringing out the caution and restacking the field for a single file restart. Hargreaves had a strong jump off the green and started to break away from Loomis while Wilson was under pressure from Shaw going into the final lap. William Hargreaves took the checkered flag ahead of Zachary Loomis with Billy Northcutt, John Wilson, and Dylan Corey rounded out the top 5 finishers tonight at Limaland Motorsports Park.

Brandyn Proudfoot continues to lead in the point standings with 701 points after not making the feature tonight while William Hargreaves closed the gap to the leader almost completely only 9 points behind at the end of the night. Billy Northcutt holds onto 3rd with 666 points, J R Shepherd sits in 4th place with 612 points, and Jeffrey Hardin moves up into 5th with 525 points. The drivers of the Bootleg Racing League Dirt Street Stock Series now head to Knoxville Raceway for the final round of season 12 on September 9th with all of the dirt slinging action broadcast live at 7:10PM ET exclusively on the Virtual Grip Network!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: