Skip to content

July 23, 2022

BRL DSS S12 R5 Recap

by Ryan Senneker

22 July 2022
Bootleg Racing League | Season 12 | Round 5
Dirt Street Stock Series | Cedar Lake Speedway
Photograph by: Billy Northcutt
Sim Racing Software: iRacing

Brandyn Proudfoot with Jim Beaver eSports took his 3rd checkered flag of the season tonight with the Bootleg Racing League Dirt Street Stock Series at Cedar Lake Speedway ahead of Billy Northcutt and William Hargreaves. “I feel like I could’ve got by him a little cleaner, but the track definitely played a little bit different tonight than it did in past seasons for sure”, Proudfoot commented to VGN. When asked about going after the championship, he added, “I’m not really here for the championship. I’m here for the community.”

Billy Northcutt cleared out ahead of Williams Hargreaves off the green as the first heat event of the night began. Running a mid-line around the corners, Northcutt was able to hold the lead and take the first checkered flag with Hargreaves following him across the line. Brandyn Proudfoot shared the front row with Jason Menda as the second heat took to the track. Proudfoot cleared ahead of Menda but wasn’t able to pull away while Robby Robinson closed in on the lead battle going into lap 2. Menda looked to the inside several times but couldn’t find an answer for Proudfoot’s momentum on corner exit with Proudfoot taking the win.

Chris Davis and Neville Ulph started out front for the 3rd heat and Davis had a great launch as the green flag came out. Hunter Hill found himself in a battle with Bobby Hayes, and Brennen Myers for 3rd place while Ulph had a safe gap ahead of them. Davis took the checkered flag with a strong lead over the field and Hill won the battle for 3rd. Jeffrey Hardin and Hunter Hill led the C Main consolation race to the green. Hardin had a good jump, but Hill jumped out ahead into the lead coming out of turn two.

Myers got alongside Hardin and was battling over 2nd from the inside. Myers took the position and closed in on the leader and went for a low dive going into the final corner but couldn’t get a nose ahead of Hill before he took the win. Robinson and Stephen Spies were in command of the field for the B Main consolation race with the two drivers battling side by side for several laps off the start. Robinson cleared ahead of Spies on lap 3 with Hayes moving up to challenge Spies. Hayes cleared into 2nd place as Robinson crossed the line to take the checkered flag.

Northcutt opted to start the 40-lap feature race to the outside of Proudfoot and cleared Proudfoot coming out of the second corner. Davis and Hargreaves battled side by side over 3rd place close behind with Menda closing on them from 5th. Hargreaves cleared into 3rd ahead of Davis and closed up on the back of the battle for the lead between Northcutt and Proudfoot with 10 laps completed. Northcutt maintained the lead as they approached the halfway point of the night.

Hargreaves was looking to the inside of Proudfoot as Myers caught the battle with Menda close behind. Proudfoot threw a slider to take the lead away on lap 24 but contact between them sent Northcutt loose sending him back to 3rd behind Hargreaves. Spies was moving up through the field from 12th and had reach the rear of the lead pack with 10 laps remaining as he tried to take 4th place away from Myers. Spies cleared into 4th as Hargreaves was looking to the inside of Proudfoot for the lead.

Proudfoot held the lead, but Hargreaves kept the pressure up going into the final 5 laps. Spies struggled to find an opening around Northcutt for 3rd as Hargreaves and Proudfoot traded slider giving Northcutt a chance to get to the inside of Hargreaves and take away 2nd place. Northcutt dove beneath Proudfoot but couldn’t get a nose ahead as the white flag came out over the track. Hargreaves got back alongside Northcutt coming out of the final corner with Northcutt holding onto 2nd place as Proudfoot took the checkered flag tonight at Cedar Lake Speedway.

Brandyn Proudfoot maintains the lead in the point standings with 371 points. Billy Northcutt moved up into 2nd place with 343 points with Williams Hargreaves close behind in 3rd with 318 points. Jeffrey Hardin climbed up into 4th place with 293 points and J R Shepherd fell back to 5th with 272 points after missing the race for personal reasons. The drivers of the Bootleg Racing League Dirt Street Stock Series now prepare for Port Royal Speedway on July 29th for race 6 of season 12 with all of the dirt slinging action broadcast live at 7:10PM ET exclusively on the Virtual Grip Network!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: