Skip to content

January 24, 2023

BRL DSLM S1 R3 Recap

by Ryan Senneker

20 January 2023
Bootleg Racing League | Season 1 | Round 3
Dirt Super Late Model Series | Cedar Lake Speedway

Thomas Vickers with Richard Murtaugh Racing took the checkered flag tonight in the Bootleg Racing League Dirt Super Late Model Series at Cedar Lake Speedway ahead of Aiden Young and William Hargreaves. “I was just waiting on the right opportunity to make the pass and then I saw it open up and I took my chances”, Vickers shared with us at the end of the night, “You just have to make sure you stay on your marks and things like that, it can easily get you up out of rhytym and mess you up when you have cautions like that.”

Jason Dill took the top spot on the timing and scoring boards with a 4-lap average set at 13.062 knocking Thomas Vickers back to 2nd in the final moments of qualifying to start off the night and led the first heat around to take the green flag. Dill held off Chris Davis to take the first checkered flag a secured the pole for the feature event later in the evening. Thomas Vickers and Aiden Young won the remaining heats with Jason Menda taking the consolation race win.

Dill led the 17-car field around to take the green flag for the feature event with Vickers to his outside. In the opening laps, Dill wasn’t able to defend against a slider from Vickers to take away the lead. After getting out front, Vickers wasted no time pulling away building up a 1.5 second lead with only 5 laps behind them. Dill made contact with the outside wall on lap 8 allowing several drivers to clear around him as his fell back in the field to 9th.

Young stayed close behind Vickers as Hargreaves and Davis battled over 3rd with 10 laps completed. After clearing ahead of Davis, Hargreaves saw an opportunity to get under Young but wasn’t able to hold pace and fell back to 3rd crossing into the 2nd half of the race. Dill was aggressively pushing back up through the field closing the gap to Davis as he climbed back into the top 5. Vickers again started to pull away building a gap between himself and Young with 10 laps remaining.

The leaders were making calculated moves as they had to negotiate through dense lap traffic in the final laps. Hargreaves was trying to challenge Young but repeatedly was forced to fall back in line to avoid traffic. A late race caution restacked the field with 4 laps remaining erasing the 2 second gap Vickers had created to that point. On the restart, Thomas Vickers got a great launch and led the field around to take the checkered flag with Aiden Young, William Hargreaves, Chris Davis, and Jason Dill rounding out the top 5 tonight at Cedar Lake.

Aiden Young jumps up to the lead in the point standings with 227 points over William Hargreaves in 2nd place 4 points behind. Jason Dill sits in 3rd place with 190 points with Matt Durbin and Jeff Sharp rounding out the top 5 drivers going into the 4th round of the season. The Bootleg Racing League next heads to Lincoln Speedway on January 27th with all of the dirt slinging action brought to you live at 8:40PM ET only on the Virtual Grip Network!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: